Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

30 July 2018

Australia Council Awards - nominations are open

Australia Council Awards - nominations are open

The Australia Council is now calling for nominations for the 2019 Australia Council Awards, including the prestigious Don Banks Music Award, named in honour of Don Banks, a composer, performer and the first Chair of the Music Board. Nominations will close on Tuesday 2 October 2018.

Australia Council Awards recognise outstanding and sustained contributions by Australian artists in music, literature, community arts and cultural development (CACD), emerging and experimental arts, visual arts, theatre, and dance. They are awarded by the Board of the Australia Council, informed by key industry advisors. All nominations must be made by third parties.

Previous winners of the Don Banks Music Award include Liza Lim (2018), Lyn Williams (2017), Brett Dean (2016), Archie Roach (2015), Mike Nock (2014), Kev Carmody (2013), Jon Rose (2012), Belinda Webster (2011) and Warren Fahey (2010). Winners of the Australia Council Award in the Emerging and Experimental category have included sound artists Nigel Helyer (2018) and Madeleine Flynn (2017).

The Australia Council will announce the Awards to eight Australian artists in March 2019.

> See the Australia Council for the Arts website for full information and nominations.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.