Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

30 March 2011

Art Music Awards - get ready to celebrate

Art Music Awards - get ready to celebrate

APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) and the Australian Music Centre (AMC) are proud to announce details of the inaugural Art Music Awards, to be held on Tuesday 3 May at Sydney Theatre, Walsh Bay. The Art Music Awards is the only program that specifically honours Australia's outstanding talent in contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music.

Formerly staged as the Classical Music Awards, the Art Music Awards, presented by APRA and the AMC, have their origin in two separate celebrations of contemporary classical music. In 2003, APRA and AMC joined forces and delivered the inaugural Classical Music Awards.

After a hiatus in 2010, in 2011 the event will return as the Art Music Awards - restructured and reinvigorated and with two brand-new categories to recognise and highlight the diversity and quality of artists working in these dynamic areas of the contemporary Australian music scene: Jazz Work of the Year (formerly part of the APRA Music Awards program) and Award for Excellence in Experimental Music. These new categories will round out the 2011 Art Music Awards, allowing the event to more accurately reflect the genres, composers and works that make up our rich musical landscape.

Including the two new categories above, the 2011 Art Music Awards will consist of ten national and various state Awards across categories covering composition, performance, and outstanding contributions by individuals and organisations in Australian music, music education and music activity in regional Australia.

To be hosted by Julian Morrow, the 2011 Art Music Awards will be presented at the Sydney Theatre, Walsh Bay, on Tuesday 3 May, with composers, performers, educators, critics and music lovers gathering for a celebration of Australia's contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music.

The 2011 Art Music Awards have attracted a record number of about 200 entries from AMC and APRA members. Shortlists of the finalists will be made public on 7 April.

Categories for the 2011 Art Music Awards

National Awards

  • Work of the Year: Instrumental
  • Work of the Year: Orchestral
  • Work of the Year: Vocal
  • Work of the Year: Jazz
  • Performance of the Year
  • Award for Excellence by an Organisation or an Individual
  • Award for Excellence in Music Education
  • Award for Excellence in a Regional Area
  • Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

An additional category is awarded at the discretion of the Board of Directors of APRA and AMC for Distinguished Services to Australian Music.

State Awards

For each State or Territory, one Award will be given from one of the nine categories listed above.

Further links

Art Music Awards - AMC
Art Music Awards - APRA

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.