Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

27 February 2020

Art Music Awards 2020 - nominate now!

Simple process, more inclusivity in 2020

Art Music Awards 2020 - nominate now!

[Update 17 March 2020 - nominations deadline extended by a week to 25 March. Also note AMC's new virtual office arrangements as of 17 March.]

The all-new 2020 Art Music Awards are now open for nominations. Submitting a nomination is now easier than ever, but don't delay - the deadline is only three short weeks away! Other changes introduced this year are: more inclusive categories for Work of the Year; a multi-genre approach to the Performance of the Year and Excellence categories; and new sustained contribution 'Luminary' Awards at both national and state levels.

Nominations are accepted for works and activities in the 2019 calendar year. In addition to the essential details about your nomination, you will only be asked to write a paragraph on why you're nominating. To nominate you need to be either a member of APRA AMCOS or a financial member of the Australian Music Centre (you can join here).

Self-nomination is not possible in any category. If you or your work has been nominated, you'll be contacted by email for further information to support the nomination - you'll also have a say about the category in the event that the nomination fits in multiple categories.

Please check the new guidelines carefully before nominating.

There are some substantial changes, particularly in the Work of the Year categories, with a new category for Electroacoustic/Sound Art works, as well as one for Dramatic works. Vocal, instrumental and orchestral works will now be assessed based on ensemble forces with 1 to 12 performers defined as Chamber Music, and larger forces defined as Large Ensemble. Works for choir will remain as a separate category (Choral).

Performance of the Year has been expanded to two categories: Performance of the Year: Notated Composition and Performance of the Year: Jazz / Improvised Music. The Awards for Excellence by an Individual and Organisation, and the State Awards are being combined into a new group of awards: the Luminary Awards.

For a more detailed explanation about category and other changes, read this article by APRA AMCOS Art Music Specialist Cameron Lam.

You can revisit some of the year's highlights by browsing 2019 events included in the AMC's Australian music calendar. Filter by state by following these links: Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia.

How to nominate in 3 steps

Step 1

To nominate you need to be either:

• a member of APRA AMCOS (Composer, Author, or Publisher member)
• a financial member of the Australian Music Centre (you can join here)

Step 2

Provide essential information (category, name of nominee, etc.)

Step 3

Write a short paragraph on why you're nominating. That's it!

Nominations must be received by 5pm AEDT, Wednesday 25 March 2020. Please note that you cannot self-nominate in any category.

The annual Art Music Awards are presented by the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and the Australian Music Centre to recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian music.

> Read the new guidelines for Art Music Awards

> Nominate now


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.