Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

22 July 2013

Art Music Awards 2013 - host James Morrison, program curator Genevieve Lacey

Art Music Awards 2013 - host James Morrison, program curator Genevieve Lacey

Now in its 3rd year, the Art Music Awards, presented by the Australian Music Centre and APRA, will return to celebrate the diversity and quality of the contemporary Australian music landscape. The live performance program of this year's Art Music Awards will be curated by the respected recorder virtuoso Genevieve Lacey. The host for the evening will be the versatile trumpeter and multi-instrumentalist James Morrison. The 2013 Art Music Awards will be held on Monday 26 August at Parade Theatre, NIDA, in Sydney.

Art Music Awards remains the only event that specifically acknowledges the achievements of Australia's outstanding talent in the fields of contemporary art music, jazz and experimental music. The 2013 Awards consist of twelve national awards and individual State/Territory Awards, across categories covering composition, performance and outstanding contributions by individuals or organisations.

The AMC's CEO John Davis said, 'There is much to celebrate across these areas of Australian music making, exceptional achievements by outstanding artists, presenters, and educators, often in challenging circumstances. We have much to be proud of.'

Finalists for the 2013 Art Music Awards will be announced in the next few weeks. National categories for the Awards are: Work of the Year: Orchestral; Work of the Year: Instrumental; Work of the Year: Vocal/Choral; Work of the Year: Jazz; Performance of the Year; Award for Excellence by an Organisation; Award for Excellence by an Individual; Award for Excellence in Music Education; Award for Excellence in a Regional Area; Award for Excellence in Experimental Music (for works, people or events); and Award for Excellence in Jazz (for works, people or events).

An additional category is awarded at the discretion of the Board of Directors of APRA and the Australian Music Centre for Distinguished Services to Australian Music. There is also an award for each Australian State or Territory, gathered from one of the categories listed above.

> Art Music Awards - general information and previous winners


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.