Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

23 November 2018

2018 Maggs Award to Natalie Williams

Natalie Williams Image: Natalie Williams  
© Megagraphics Photography

Natalie Williams has won the 2018 Albert H Maggs Composition Award for her work Saudade (2015) for string octet. The Maggs Award is provided as a commission (approx. $,7000 plus performance subsidy of $3,000) for the creation of a new musical work of a substantial nature.

The judging panel commented, 'Saudade, by Natalie Williams, is a major work for string octet of convincing voice and energy. Right from the arresting opening, the work shows strong harmonic and rhythmic control over engaging material. It is finely crafted for string octet, a combination that Williams beautifully brings to life. The panel looks forward to hearing the new work that she will write as part of the Albert H Maggs commission.'

> Previous winners of the Albert H Maggs Award (AMC Online)

> More information about the Maggs Award on the University of Melbourne website

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.