Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

11 December 2017

2017 Albert H Maggs Award to Lachlan Skipworth

Lachlan Skipworth Image: Lachlan Skipworth  
© Nik Babic

Lachlan Skipworth has been announced as the winner of the 2017 Albert H Maggs Award. The winning composition is his orchestral work Spiritus, premiered by the West Australian Symphony Orchestra in March. The selection panel commented:

'Lachlan's Skipworth's Spiritus presents a delicately crafted orchestral sound world with intriguing harmonic contrasts. The dramatic narrative is carefully paced - an original and rewarding journey.'

The Maggs Award comes in the form of a commission ($7,000 plus a $3,000 performance subsidy). Skipworth will be writing a new sextet for performance by Syzygy and Intercurrent.

Recent winners of the Award include Peter Knight, Julian Yu, Tim Dargaville, Brenton Broadstock, Andrew Ford, Katy Abbott, Paul Stanhope and Kate Neal. The first Award was presented in 1967 to Nigel Butterley.

> Lachlan Skipworth - AMC profile

> Albert H Maggs Award - list of winners (1967-2017) on AMC Online

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.