Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

10 February 2017

2016 Jean Bogan Piano Prize to Paul Copeland

2016 Jean Bogan Piano Prize to Paul Copeland

Melbourne-based composer Paul Copeland has won the 2016 Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition for his work Audacious Binary Forms. The main prize in this competition attracts the sum of $8,000. The Jean Bogan Youth Prize ($1,500) went to Queensland composer John Rotar for his Sonatine.

Highly commended in the main prize category were Jonathan Mui for his Three Concert Pieces for Piano and Andrzej Nowicki for Illusions of Progress. Highly commended in the category for under 25-year-old composers were Angus Davison (After fanfares); and Thomas Misson (Saturday Night Tuberculosis).

The Jean Bogan Prize for Piano Composition was established in 1989 through the generosity of Mr Laurie Bogan as a memorial to his wife. The 2016 winning compositions will be performed in a concert at the Newcastle Conservatorium of Music in spring 2017.

> More information about previous Jean Bogan Prize winners (AMC Online)

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.