Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

16 June 2016

2016 Freedman Jazz Fellowship finalists: McLean, O'Connor and Sweeting

2016 Freedman Jazz Fellowship finalists: McLean, O'Connor and Sweeting

The 2016 Freedman Jazz Fellowship finalists are drummer James McLean and pianists Joseph O'Connor and Luke Sweeting. The finalists will compete for the $20,000 cash prize in a live performance 'play-off' at the Sydney Opera House on Monday 1 August at 7:30pm.

The judges (Stu Hunter, Laurence Pike and Brendan Clarke) selected the three finalists from a group of 16 national candidates. Past winners of the Freedman Jazz Fellowship include guitarists Ben Hauptmann and James Muller, saxophonists Julien Wilson, Andrew Robson and Matt Keegan, pianists Andrea Keller, Matt McMahon, Marc Hannaford and Aaron Choulai, trumpeter Phil Slater, bassist Christopher Hale and vocalist Kristin Berardi.

The Jazz Fellowship is funded by the Freedman Foundation, a philanthropic foundation chaired by Laurence Freedman, which assists and supports young Australians in many areas including medical and scientific programs and the arts.

> Freedman Jazz, 1 August - event details in the AMC Calendar


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.