Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

12 May 2016

2016 Australian Jazz Bell Awards - shortlists announced

Olivia Chindamo, shortlisted for the Young Australian Jazz Artist of the Year Image: Olivia Chindamo, shortlisted for the Young Australian Jazz Artist of the Year  
© Rosetta Mattina

Shortlisted artists for the 2016 Australian Jazz Bell Awards have been announced. AMC's Associate artist Barney McAll and, in particular, his 2015 album Mooroolbark made the shortlists in four categories (Best Instrumental Jazz Album; Best Produced Album; Best Australian Jazz Song/Composition of the Year; and Best Australian Small Jazz Band). Other artists nominated in multiple categories were Angela Davis and her album Lady Luck, Olivia Chindamo with Keep an Eye on Spring, and Julian Wilson with his Quartet and the live album This Narrow Isthmus, featuring the late Allan Browne. Allan Browne Quintet, with the posthumous Ithaca Bound album, was also nominated in the Best Australian Small Band category.

Other shortlisted AMC-represented artists include Mike Nock, shortlisted for the Best Produced Album (Nock and Laurence Pike's Beginning And End of Knowing), Alister Spence, whose Trio (with Lloyd Swanton and Toby Hall) was shortlisted in the Best Australian Small Band category, and Paul Grabowsky whose album Provenance (with Vince Jones) was shortlisted for the Best Australian Jazz Vocal Album.

The Australian Jazz Bell Awards, named in honour of the late Graeme Bell, MBE AO, feature a prize pool of $40,000, with the winner of each category receiving $5,000. Winners and the Graeme Bell Hall of Fame recipient will be announced on Monday 20 June at Bird's Basement in Melbourne.

> For all shortlisted artists, ensembles and albums, please see the Bell Awards website.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.