Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

7 November 2016

2016 Albert H Maggs Award to Peter Knight

Peter Knight Image: Peter Knight  
© Traianos Pakioufakis

Peter Knight has won the 2016 Albert H Maggs Award for his work Diomira. The winning work was commissioned by the Australian Art Orchestra and premiered at the Metropolis New Music Festival in May. The Maggs Award comes in the form of a commission ($7,000 plus a $3000 performance subsidy), which Knight is intending to use by developing this same piece into a full-length concert work for the AAO, involving a multi-screen visual element by video artist Scott Morrison.

Drawing inspiration from Diomira, one of the imaginary cities described in Italo Calvino's novella Invisible Cities, Peter Knight's work is scored for chamber jazz orchestra with turntables, a reel-to-reel tape machine (replacing the drum kit) and live laptop signal processing.

Diomira - premiere at the Metropolis New Music Festival in May 2016,
video by Scott Morrison (Vimeo).

Recent winners of the Albert H Maggs Award include Julian Yu, Tim Dargaville, Brenton Broadstock, Andrew Ford, Katy Abbott Kvasnica, Paul Stanhope and Kate Neal. The first Award was presented in 1967 to Nigel Butterley.

> Albert H Maggs winners on the University of Melbourne website

Subjects discussed by this article:


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.