Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

15 November 2012

2013 APRA Professional Development Awards - submission deadline 21 January

2013 APRA Professional Development Awards - submission deadline 21 January

Applications have opened for the 2013 APRA Professional Development Awards. These Awards are conducted every two years by APRA in conjunction with music organisations and institutions involved in the representation or education of Australian composers and songwriters. The Awards offer cash, travel, education and recognition to eight composers or songwriters in the early stages of their careers. In 2013, awards will be given in the following categories: Popular Contemporary (three awards covering pop, rock, blues, folk, hip hop, dance and R&B), Country, Jazz, Classical, Film & Television, and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander.

There is more than $30,000 worth of prizes on offer for each winner in the form of cash, airfares, publicity packages, mentoring opportunities, distribution deals and instruments. Winners will also have access to one-on-one sessions with managers, publishers and a music industry business team.

Applications have been extended until 21 January 2013. All applications will be submitted online. For more information on how to apply, terms and conditions, categories, prize packs and partner organisations, please visit the APRA website.

Before you apply, you will need to decide upon your award category and choose a partner organisationto initially review your application. The Australian Music Centre is the partner organisation for the Classical category, and any enquiries about this category can be directed to . For more information of all partner organisations, please see the list on the APRA website. Each partner organisation will provide to APRA a shortlist of applicants to be presented to the external judging committee which will then select the 2013 winners.

Applicants need to be APRA members and should not have previously won the Award. Applicants entering under the Classical category are encouraged to provide scores of their submitted work.

All shortlisted applicants will be contacted by email, post or telephone by 1 April 2013 using the contact details provided on the online entry form. The winner will be announced at a function in Sydney on 23 April 2013.

[Updated 15 Nov - AMC contact and more information about eligibility.]
[Updated 4 Jan - Submission extension to 21 January]

Further links

APRA 2013 Professional Development Awards

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.