Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

6 May 2011

2011 Bell Awards - Gould, Mike Nock Trio, AAO, Luebbers

Tony Gould Image: Tony Gould  

[Updated 9 May/17 May]

The Australian jazz community gathered in Melbourne's Plaza Ballroom on 5 May to recognise outstanding musicians - based on albums and performances from 2010 - at the annual Australian Jazz Bell Awards. A highlight of the glittering evening hosted by Tracey Curro was the induction of jazz legend Tony Gould into the Qantas Hall of Fame.

The 2011 winners also include the Mike Nock Trio (Best Australian Contemporary Jazz Album - An Accumulation of Subtleties), Australian Art Orchestra/Young Wagilak Group (Best Australian Jazz Ensemble) and Johannes Luebbers (Young Australian Jazz Artist of The Year). The winners share a prize pool of $40,000 - with $5,000 per category. For a complete list of the winners, please see www.bellawards.org/

Established in 2003, the Australian Jazz Bell Awards - better known as the 'Bells' - honour one of the greats of Australian jazz, Graeme Bell MBE AO, and were established to recognise and encourage excellence in the performance, recording and presentation of jazz in Australia. The new format of the 2011 awards included a new venue, a new award category, more judges and a number of new sponsors.

Further links

The Bell Awards - 2011 winners (www.bellawards.org)
Browse CDs featuring music by Tony Gould (AMC Shop)
Browse CDs featuring music by Mike Nock (AMC Shop)

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.