Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

14 October 2010

2011 Art Music Awards - call for nominations

2011 Art Music Awards - call for nominations

The Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA) and the Australian Music Centre are pleased to announce the call for nominations from AMC and APRA members for the 2011 Australian Art Music Awards, to be held in Sydney in May 2011.

After a hiatus in 2010, in 2011 the Awards return refreshed and restructured. From 2011, two new categories will be recognised to highlight the diversity and quality of artists working in these dynamic areas of the contemporary Australian scene:

  • Jazz Work of the Year (formerly part of the APRA Music Awards program)
  • Award for Excellence in Experimental Music

Significant achievements within the contemporary music community during 2009 and 2010 will not miss out on recognition; works, events and performances from this period will be eligible for nomination in the 2011 awards.

'The categories for the 2011 Art Music Awards have been refreshed and restructured. In this way, the Awards will more accurately reflect - and therefore recognise and reward - the genres, composers and works that make up the Australian contemporary music landscape,' said Nigel Westlake, APRA Board Director.

AMC's CEO John Davis said, 'the inclusion in the awards of specific categories covering jazz and experimental music, previously included in more generic award categories, provide a platform for highlighting the diversity and quality of artists working in these dynamic areas of the contemporary Australian scene.'

Submit your nomination today to help us celebrate the best in Australian Art Music, and, to take advantage of the easy, instant nomination option.

  • Instant Nominations - You have until Monday 15 November 2010 to submit instant nominations - only requiring a short written abstract.
  • Full Nominations - For all nominations received after 15 November and before the final deadline of Wednesday 15 December 2010, all support materials must be provided.

Nomination form and rules are available on the Awards subpage.

Further links

Australian Music Centre - Art Music Awards
APRA Awards page (www.apra-amcos.com.au/APRAAwards/ArtMusicAwards.aspx)

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.