Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

Bridge of Dreams


Bridge of Dreams / Sirens Big Band, Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal, Aneesh Pradhan, Sudhir Nayak, Bobby Singh.

  • Published by Rufus Records — 2018 [RF130] — 1 CD
  • Purchase Price: $22.73 (Usually ships in 1-4 days) — Add to Cart
  • Library Availability: CD 3017 — Reference (not for loan) copy only


Add to Cart

Usually ships in 1-4 days

Shipping Info

Featured Australian works

  Work Composer PerformersDuration
Bridge of Dreams — big band with soloists
Recorded/performed at: Sony Studios, Sydney, on 2018.
Sandy Evans, Shubha Mudgal and Aneesh Pradhan Sirens Big Band, Sandy Evans, Bobby Singh, Shubha Mudgal, Aneesh Pradhan, Sudhir Nayak

Product details

Bridge of Dreams is an epic musical work celebrating the creative dialogue between an exceptional group of musicians from India and Australia: Sandy Evans (composition/musical director/saxophone soloist), Shubha Mudgal (composition/voice), Aneesh Pradhan (composition/tabla), Sirens Big Band (led by Jessica Dunn), Sudhir Nayak (harmonium), and Bobby Singh (tabla). The work is co-composed by Sandy Evans, Aneesh Pradhan and Shubha Mudgal.

This work has been developed over several years and recorded across two continents from Mumbai to Sydney. For over 60 years musicians have delighted in jazz's affinity with India's rich musical canon. In the space between two worlds, magical, colourful and musically thrilling things happen.

Hindustani singer Shubha Mudgal has been named 'one of the best vocalists in today's generation of singers' (Free Press Journal) and saxophonist Sandy Evans, 'one of the best contemporary jazz composers…anywhere' (All About Jazz). Add the percussive brilliance of composer and master tabla player Aneesh Pradhan and his disciple Bobby Singh, harmonium virtuoso Sudhir Nayak, and the exhilaration and precision of the 17-piece super-collective Sirens Big Band, and you have the stunning album Bridge of Dreams.

Bridge of Dreams is supported through The Australia Council for the Arts, the Australian Government's arts funding and advisory body; the NSW Government through Create NSW; APRA AMCOS Art Music Fund and the PPCA Fund. Bridge of Dreams acknowledges the support of the School of the Arts and Media, The University of New South Wales.

Contents note:

1. Arms of Imagination (Comp: Pradhan/Evans, Lyrics: Gauhar Raza) -- 2. Dharti Ke Darbar (Comp: Pradhan/Evans, Lyrics: trad) -- 3. Joyous Rain (Comp: Evans/Mudgal, Lyrics: Badri Narayan Choudhury ‘Premghan’) -- 4. Ya Kareem (Comp: Mudgal/Evans, Lyrics: Kabirdas) -- 5. Tabla Spiral (Comp: Pradhan/Evans) -- 6. Imagining and Longing (Comp: Evans /Mudgal, Lyrics: Mudgal) -- 7.  Beam, Arch, Suspension (Comp: Evans /Pradhan) -- 8. Aji Jaaiye (Comp: Pradhan/Evans, Lyrics: Mudgal) -- 9. Deepening of the Red Sun (Comp: Evans, Lyrics: Kabirdas).

Read the Sydney Morning Herald Review here.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this item.

To post a comment please login